King Cake and a Vodka Bottle

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day! I’m IRISH! YAY!

Today at work I organized a lunch potluck with a St. Paddy’s Day theme (Irish or green) and a Mardi Gras theme (southern) so that people could have a lot to choose from!

I challenged myself to the King Cake. But I of course had to use an easy-peasy recipe that I found over at Christy Jordan’s Southern Plate.

I know it looks like a kid made this….but seriously most King Cake’s DO look like this. King Cake’s are pretty close to either a cinnamon roll, breakfast tea ring type treat. My favorite was actually when I was in NOLA and we had a French King Cake. YUM! I also didn’t put a baby in the cake as I don’t want anyone suing me at work for choking…

I don’t have a rolling pin. The oldest staple of a kitchen and I don’t have one! I started using a pint glass to roll the dough, but it wasn’t enough weight. So I glanced around for a bottle without imprints on it and BAM! Vodka bottle. I had just happened to pick one up for a cocktail party this weekend (I’ll share that recipe later).  It worked like a charm!

Turns out it was delish! Not very pretty looking, but for those that were brave enough to try, we all agreed it wasn’t too sweet and would be even better tomorrow for breakfast!

I have some leftover dough now too, and the Southern Plate has some great suggestions for other uses…I think I’ll try the cinnamon rolls next!

Southern Plate King Cake

  • 1 roll frozen bread dough, thawed
  • 8 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon lemon extract

Glaze

  • 1.5 cups powdered sugar
  • 3 tablespoons of milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla flavoring (ideally clear)

On a floured surface, roll out dough to 10×18 using a vodka bottle. Use a construction tape measure to figure out the size.

In a mixing bowl, combine cream cheese, sugar, and lemon until creamy. Spread over dough leaving about an inch on all sides. Roll up into a long log and seal the edges with water.

Take roll and form a ring by pressing the ends into each other on a cookie sheet. Spray lightly with cooking spray and cover with plastic wrap. Put in front of your heater on top of a bowl to rise for 45 min to an hour (or more if your me).

Remove plastic and bake at 350* for 30-35 min. Allow to cool and mix the glaze and drizzle over the cake. Add sprinkles and a baby if desired.

One thought on “King Cake and a Vodka Bottle

Leave a Reply

