{Recipes}: Champagne Cupcakes

Birthdays are a celebration, often in my world lasting a month. And a celebration calls for champagne cupcakes!

These cupcakes were super simple and came out beautiful, fluffy, and delish! I enlisted the help of Holly to create these gems and since my party was bingo themed I created these fun cupcake toppers with my new 1″ and 1.5″ punches and some stamps.

My Bingo Birthday Party post is to follow, but here is the delicious champagne cupcake recipe!

Champagne Cupcakes adjusted slightly from Betty Crocker

Cupcake Ingredients

  • 1 box Betty Crocker white cake mix
  • 1 1/4 cups Andre’s Extra Dry champagne
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 2 eggs

Heat oven to 350 degrees and prepare muffin pans with cupcake liners.  Mix in a large bowl cake mix, champagne, oil and eggs on medium for 2-3 minutes. Divide batter into cupcake liners.

Bake for about 17 minutes (rotating pan half way through) and cool.

Pink Champagne Frosting Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 4 cups powder sugar, sifted for extra smoothness
  • 1/4 cup Andre’s Extra Dry Champagne
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • Few drops of red food coloring (or your choice)

In bowl beat frosting ingredients until smooth. Frost cupcakes and add flair.

Tips:

  • Have champagne at room temperature-then drink the leftover while frosting.
  • Buy your preferred cheap champagne, mine’s Andre’s Extra Dry for under $4!
  • I’d double the frosting recipe if you want to pipe/decorate the cupcakes more. But note this frosting is fairly sweet so I’d recommend trying a cream cheese frosting recipe if you plan on piping on a thicker layer.
  • You can tint the cupcakes, but I would leave it alone because they come out so white and pretty!
  • The cupcakes originally called for 3 egg whites-but the two whole eggs still had the same effect in my opinion.
  • Hire help like I did-I paid Holly in pizza and champagne, plus it was fun to do together!

Enjoy! Make them to celebrate my birthday this weekend or heck make them to just to celebrate you and the goodness of champagne for $3.99!

4 thoughts on “{Recipes}: Champagne Cupcakes

  1. Yay! I’ve been waiting for the recipe! And I think it’s hilarious that you use Andre. My friends make fun of me b/c that’s what I drink-I really can’t taste the difference between that and Dom

  2. This cookbook is spiral bound and lays flat. All recipes include pictures and simple to follow instructions.

    The Peach-Pecan Cobbler included a boxed cake mix and then with adding a can of peaches, a few spices, eggs and pecans you have a fabulous dessert. It was very simple to make. This is the same as their Off the Shelf Baking (Bertter Homes and Gardens Off the Shelf). Off the Shelf being the cake mix, can of peaches.

    The Roasted Almond-Cranberry-Pear Crisp used almond crunchy granola bars to make a very easy, yummy dessert. I also made the Rocky Road Bars for my sons’ school party and they were an instant hit. I used a Devil’s Food cake mix, added some butter, sugar, mini marshmallows and M&M’s and it was so delish.

    All those little Betty Crocker books in this series have been wonderful. They use a few packaged ingredients and then you add the rest. I have Betty Crocker Party Food: 100 Recipes for the Way You Really Cook and I’ve been real happy with it as well.

Leave a Reply

