{Recipes}: Madeleines

In preparation of a future tea party and to try out my latest kitchen product I tackled one of my favorite treats-the Madeleine- a delicious cake like cookie typically served with coffee or tea.

What a cold but beautiful spring day too! Meet Sarah for some coffee and a walk around Greenlake!

Then washed my new silicone Madeleine pan (I’d read reviews that these are easier to pop them out of then the metal ones).

source

I’d found some great recipes, but most called for beating the eggs for a long time and some other hassles I found not friendly! I finally found a perfect no brainer one in the GIANT Bon Appetit Dessert book. Have you seen that thing?! It weighs about 300 lbs (actual weight is 6.4 lbs)! But it has every dessert recipe I could think of.

source

These were extremely easy but as I would find out with the silicone pan if you use it on top of a cookie sheet you will get hot spots (notice the tan spot in the following photo) but my second batch had more even coloring because I didn’t use the cookie sheet and the batter is solid enough that I wasn’t worried about spilling it. Easy clean up too!

Bon Appetit Madeleine’s from Bon Appetit Desserts

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated lemon peel (I used lemon extract and would suggest 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon depending on how lemony you want them)
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 10 tablespoons of unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Lightly spray pan with oil (if using a metal pan butter and flour a lot!). With a mixer, beat eggs and sugar until blended.  Beat in vanilla, lemon and salt. Add flour, beat until just blended. Gradually add cooled melted butter in a steady stream, beating until just blended.

Spoon 1 tablespoon of batter into each indentation of the pan (no need to spread it out as this helps create the traditional madeleine ‘hump’). Bake until puffed and brown about 16 minutes (Mine took about this time but I read many people saying only 10-13 minutes so I originally set it for 8 then kept checking on it every few minutes). Cool 5 minutes. Gently remove from pan (if using silicone I flipped the whole thing over on parchment paper and pushed each mold). Repeat process for rest of batter.

Can be made 1 day ahead, although the next day they were still good but they were best day of. Also optional to put powdered sugar or dip in chocolate. I prefer them plain with tea!

What are your favorite treats with tea or coffee??

Bon Appetit!


 

2 thoughts on “{Recipes}: Madeleines

Leave a Reply

