{The List}: A Secret Garden

Bucket List #71: Have a garden

Planting, growing and eating your own food is one of the most rewarding things to me. My dad a few years ago had planted some planters with veggies and herbs but I for the past 8 or more years have lived in places without the ability to have my own garden. I have bought basil plants, they died. I have bought mint plants, they died. I did have a yard back in 2005/06. But if I had planted anything, they’d die.

So my dad had been wanting to do more than a few planters and I wanted to learn more about gardening so we began (mostly him, let’s give credit where credit is due) a raised bed vegetable garden plan. We picked the Saturday before Easter since I would be home anyway and rain or shine we would create the garden.

By the time 4/23 rolled around my Dad had done ALL of the work. 🙂 He had started seeds, built the base of the raised beds, picked up soil, manure-SICK, and more. The entire week rained. Poured. Saturday rolled around and the sun came out and it was 66!!!!!!! degrees. 66!! We got straight to work. This is were I came in…(although I’ll be doing a lot of the eating too) I cut open bags of soil, manure, sand and raked the layers in the beds, planted the seedlings and some seeds, drank lots of water, and began weeding the side yard (that didn’t last long, let’s be honest).

We edged the patio with the garden with plans to add the frame up each year. By the third year the beds should be high enough for us (my dad) to build benches to sit on so we can use the fire pit and have more seating than just the patio table and chairs. Doesn’t his backyard look great?!

We planted (in hopes that they all thrive…)

  • carrots
  • spinach
  • two types of lettuce
  • Walla Walla onions
  • three types of garlic
  • herbs: chives, parsley, basil, oregano, sage…
  • peas
  • cucumbers
  • fennel
  • beets, turnips
  • corn
  • squash
  • artichokes
  • celery
  • rhubarb (already from previous year)
  • beans
  • radishes
  • tomatoes and so much more I can’t even remember!!

I can’t wait to share pictures with you of the garden as it grows and once we harvest some too!

Side note: I had huckleberry bushes in my yard growing up and am dying to find some one that has some that I could pick 4 cups off of this summer for a family recipe….if it is you let me know!

Side note #2: Check out Holly’s clever way to use drawers in her garden.

Do you have a garden? Or what’s your favorite veggies you would grow?

2 thoughts on “{The List}: A Secret Garden

Leave a Reply

