{Recipes}: Guest Post…Kinda

I recently had to buy about a cart full of bananas for a work activity with some youth and had a few bunches leftover. I ran out of time to make banana bread myself and had no room to freeze them so I gave my Dad a bundle of really ripe bananas and a recipe I have loved to use for banana bread. So technically this is a guest post because my dad sent me photos of the banana bread he made, but since I gave him the bananas and the recipe I figure it’s worth it to share this deliciousness!

Can we also admire how cool this photo looks?! I’m so jealous of my Dad’s cooking and baking skills…and his gas range. One day I will have a beautiful stove. And a Kitchen Aid mixer.

Banana Bread with Cinnamon Crust Topping from Orangette

Ingredients

For bread:

  • 1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 1 cup mashed ripe banana (about 3 medium bananas)
  • 2 large eggs
  • ½ cup vegetable oil
  • ¼ cup honey
  • ¼ cup water

For topping:

  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 2 ½ Tbsp. packed dark brown sugar

Preheat the oven to 350° F. Butter and flour a 9- x 5-inch loaf pan or two small loaf pans.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt. In a large bowl, whisk together the banana, eggs, oil, honey, and water. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, and stir well. Scrape the batter into the prepared pan.

In a small bowl, mix together the topping ingredients. Sprinkle them evenly over the batter.

Bake the bread until a tester inserted into its center comes out clean, about 1 hour, give or take a little. Cool the bread in the pan on a wire rack for 30 minutes. Then carefully remove the bread from the pan, taking care not to dislodge the topping. Cool completely before slicing.

Doesn’t even need butter or cream cheese it is that tasty!

2 thoughts on “{Recipes}: Guest Post…Kinda

  1. I’m jealous of the gas range too! When I grow up there are a lot of things I’m going to have in my kitchen..and my living room…and my bedroom…and my patio…

Leave a Reply

