{Recipes & Books}: Little Bee and Honey Treats

So  I finally finished Little Bee by Chris Cleave who I meet in May and talked about in this post. And WOW!

For this special book club we meet with one of the gals in our clubs mom’s club too. Whoa. Did that make sense? Basically two book clubs meeting together for one book. Ha.

And since I am sooooo clever (I like to compliment myself and beat everyone else to the punch) I of course had to make an appetizer that involved the use of honey. Little Bee. Honey. Get it?! Oh I just crack myself up!

And since you are probably NOT laughing….

Here’s the recipe!

And whoops! I didn’t take pictures of it and I’m going to change up the recipe from what I actually made to what we decided would be better!

Honey Pear Nut and Cheese Crostini adapted from Bon Appetit and Martha Stewart

Ingredients

  • Baguette ideally from a french bakery
  • Strong cheese of your choice-gorgonzola, brie or blue cheese
  • Pears
  • Walnuts, pecans or hazelnuts, chopped
  • Good quality honey
  • Olive oil for toasting crostini

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Slice baguette at an angle in about 1/4 to 1/2 inch pieces and line on a baking sheet. Brush olive oil on each slice lightly. Place in the oven from about 7 min or until toasted and golden brown. Slice pears into thin pieces. Spread cheese on each baguette, top with chopped nuts and top with sliced pears. Drizzle with honey and serve to hungry book club women!

So simple and delish with a lovely wine!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

