{Recipes}: Baked Zucchini Fries and Pizza Sauce

My dad and I’s garden had a giant zucchini and I was trying to find a recipe other than my go to zucchini bread for it. I stumbled across not only a delish BAKED zucchini fries (I love the fried kind too), but this pizza sauce to dip it in is also the best pizza sauce for homemade pizzas I’ve had in a long time! I used the extra sauce for a different meal of pizza with zucchini thrown on it too! This is a great snack and much healthier than fried zucchini!

Baked Zucchini Fries from Our Best Bites

Ingredients

  • 1 lb of zucchini, cut in strips
  • 1/2 cup Italian panko bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup finely grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 eggs

Instructions

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Combine bread crumbs and cheese. In a separate shallow dish whisk eggs. Blot the zucchini strips dry, dip in the egg mixture and then roll in the crumbs. Place on the baking sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes, flip, and then bake another 10-12 minutes. Serve with the pizza sauce recipe below or ranch!

I had most of these things on hand for the pizza sauce which made it even easier!

Pizza Sauce loosely adapted from Our Best Bites

Ingredients

  • 1-6 oz can tomato paste
  • 6 oz of water (use tomato can)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 tablespoon grated Parmesan cheese
  • Dash of salt
  • A dash to 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder, oregano, basil, marjoram, and parsley
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes (optional)

Instructions

Empty the tomato paste into a bowl mixing in water a little at a time until smooth. Add all other ingredients and stir to combine. Add to pizza dough or serve as a dip to the zucchini fries! You can also freeze the sauce!

Mamma Mia!

2 thoughts on “{Recipes}: Baked Zucchini Fries and Pizza Sauce

  1. I have a recipe from Weight Watchers for zucchini fries that I’ve been meaning to make. I’ll have to get on that sooner now that I’ve seen this!

Leave a Reply

